Calculating Conditional Probability Table (Migrated from community.research.microsoft.com) RRS feed

• Question

• xyc posted on 06-22-2009 10:00 PM

Hi,

I'm new to Infer.NET and I'm trying to understand how to use it by coding a sub-set of my bayesian network which is similar to the following model.

S                                   M
    p(s) = 0.3                 p(m) = 0.6
                \                           /
                  \                       /
                    \                   /
                              L     p(l|s,m) = 0.05
                              |      p(l|s,~m) = 0.1
                              |     p(l|~s,m) = 0.1
                              |     p(l|~s,~m) = 0.2
                              |
                             T   p(t|l) = 0.3
                                  p(t|~l) = 0.8

I can create the model using the example given in a previous thread.  But, in my actual network, variables S and M each have 10 discrete states. This means variable L would have 100 rows in its conditional probability table (CPT).  I would like to calculate the CPT values as required using Kevin Murphy's formula which is suitable for my needs.

p(L|S,M) = [p(L|S)p(L|M)] / p(L)

This would mean I wouldn't have to code 100 rows of Variable.If() conditions, especially when this is just a sub-set of my actual model.  In my model variable L will be dependent on a few more other variables, each having more states, so there will be much more than 100 rows in the resulting CPT.