locked
Bidirectional update? What happens if a shared file is deleted? RRS feed

  • Question

  • I was watching a Channel 9 video by Ori Amiga on Live Mesh, and there are some neat demos.

    But he always shows things being added - what happens when a file is deleted from a shared folder? Does it disappear from all the shared folders on other devices? What happens if someone was editing it on a different machine and then saved it?
    • Edited by GuyWithDogs Wednesday, April 30, 2008 9:28 PM fixed typo in Subject
    Wednesday, April 30, 2008 9:27 PM

Answers

  • Hello,

    When a file gets deleted from a shared folder, the Live Mesh client will delete it from the endpoint by moving it to the Recycle Bin.  This way, users can manually restore the file if it was accidentally deleted.

    Live Mesh uses FeedSync underneath the covers, so if one endpoint deleted it, and another endpoint edited the same file/saved it before it received the delete, it would cause a conflict.  Check out the FeedSync spec for how conflicts are detected and preserved.

    Thanks!
    Richard
    Richard Chung [MSFT]
    Wednesday, April 30, 2008 10:38 PM
    Answerer