none
Welcome to the SyncToy Forum RRS feed

• General discussion

• Welcome to the official SyncToy forum. 

SyncToy is a free tool which helps you copy, move, rename, and delete files between folders and computers quickly.

Core to SyncToy is the Microsoft Sync Framework which uses Sync Services for File Systems to efficiently synchronize files between computers and even to external devices such as USB thumb drives.

This forum focuses on discussions relating to SyncToy including questions, issues and feedback.

For more information or to download SyncToy please visit the SyncToy 2.0 Beta Download Center.

Liam

Wednesday, February 6, 2008 6:56 PM

All replies

• Liam,

Does this product operate in the same fashion as Microsoft's aquired FolderShare product?

Thanks,

Mike

Thursday, February 7, 2008 5:14 PM
  • Hi Mike,

Yes, there are some very close similarities between the two products.  I have to admit that I have very little experience with FolderShare, but I will point out what I understand from a comparitive standpoint. 

FolderShare and SyncToy are similar in that they do allow you to keep folders in sync over various devices and desktops, the main difference is in the way they do it.

With FolderShare everything is very much based around the internet.  When you first setup FolderShare you will create an account which is stored on the internet and your configuration is done from a browser.  You also need to ensure that you have FolderShare installed on all the machines you want to sync with.  This has advantages as it makes it simple to share files between frients and family members, etc or wherever you need to sync files with over the internet.