Is there a definitive solution to MS Money and Windows 10 RRS feed

• Question

• I have been using MS Money (UK version) for many years so have quite a big file.

I have Windows 10 on a new (previously Windows 8.1) laptop.  I have tried the Sunset Money and my old Installation CD

It seems to run I cannot open my old MNY file or its backup which I transferred to the laptop via a memory stick.

It is not read-only, I have permission to change as far as I can see and the drive is not write-protected

I looked at importing QIF files for each account on the copy of MONEY but it seems to be a lot of work to do them all individually. 

I have been looking at the messages on here but there seem to be a lot of conflicting opinions about what does and does not work.

If there was a good alternative then I would buy it but not seen one yet.

MB

• Edited by Lundavra Thursday, August 27, 2015 12:03 PM
    Thursday, August 27, 2015 11:57 AM

Answers

• It is likely that the Money version on your disk requires an online update which is no longer available.  Fortunately, the second "sticky" in this forum:

https://social.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/479281b2-90f9-42ca-85f7-644fc6e1e5c3/download-microsoft-money-installation-files-solve-activation-and-some-other-errors?forum=money

has a version of Money for UK that has the update included.  Uninstall the version from your disk and then download and install Money 2005 UK - QFE2, -  the UK version from that link.

You should also be sure that you have applied all the latest updates to Windows 10.  Money will show an error if you haven't applied the 8/12/2015 updates.

Please post back and let us know if this works for you or if you need more help.

Bill Becker

Thursday, August 27, 2015 3:29 PM

All replies

• It is likely that the Money version on your disk requires an online update which is no longer available.  Fortunately, the second "sticky" in this forum: