CPU spikes and slow backups RRS feed

• Question

• Hello, this is my first post after lurking for awhile.  I'm having an issue with CPU spikes from 0% to (approx) 30-50% during daily operation on a new WHS server install.  Task Manager graph looks like a nice, tight sine wave.  When trying to do a backup, WHS slows to a crawl and is unusable.  If I try to open the console, it will either not open or take (literally) a couple of minutes to appear.  At this point, I don't know if the cpu spikes and slow backups are directly related.  As a result of slow backups (72+ hours for 1 machine), I have updated all drivers for WHS and the client machine.  I have also downloaded all available WHS updates and have not installed any add-ins, etc.  FYI, I am a complete WHS/Win2003 newbie.

Any suggestions for improving performance and/or fixing the cpu spikes would be appreciated!

Hardware:

WHS:
    AMD Sempron 3400+
    ECS AMD690GM-M2
    1.5 GB DDR2 667
    2x Seagate 750GB 7200 SATA2, mobo based RAID 1    <---  Yes, I know about the support
    1 WD 160GB SATA2 (not part of storage due to data corruption issue)
    built-in video
    Lite-On DVD burner - IDE

Client:
    XP Home sp2
    C2Q Q6600
    MSI 975x Platinum Power-up Edition
    4GB DDR2-800
    1x WD 80GB IDE
    2x WD 250GB SATA2, RAID 0
    1x Seagate 500GB USB external (not included in the WHS backup but is used for Acronis True Image backups)
    PCI Express video
    Samsung DVD burner

Network
    Linksys FastE Switch with both machines in adajacent ports
    (other stuff that isn't important, i.e. Linksys WRT54GL router, switches, etc)

Thanks,
    Todd

Monday, April 28, 2008 8:06 PM

Answers