Get a value from an entity RRS feed

• Question

• Hello
    I'm very new with crm 2011. I would like to insert a value in an entity named 'opportunite' from another entity named 'SCPI'. Actually I would like to fill the field "new_tauxexp" of the first entity with the value in the field "resto_exp" from the second entity.
    I tried to look for an answer in this forum but - maybe due to my difficulties to understand english- I didn't find something clear !
    Thank you in advance

Monday, June 24, 2013 3:27 PM

All replies

• Have you created relationship between opportunity and your SCPI entity ?? if yes you can fetch data from your related entity based on GUID otherwise you need to use some other criteria to fetch data from your entity ?? you can use rest endpoint, it's very simple to implement, you can check latest CRM sdk for sample code.

Our Website | Our Blog | Follow US | My Facebook Page | Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2011 Application Design
    Make sure to "Vote as Helpful" and "Mark As Answer",if you get answer of your question.

Monday, June 24, 2013 3:37 PM
  • Thank you very much for your reply.
    Could you give me a little example of a basic application using the rest endpoint ?
    Monday, June 24, 2013 4:11 PM
  • Like Mahender mentioned you can download the SDK and check out the JavaScript/REST examples in the sample code - the SDK provides some libraries for working with the REST endpoint.

Otherwise without a library you can make a XMLHTTPRequest directly:

function Contact_OnChange() {
        var contact = new Array();
        contact = Xrm.Page.getAttribute("new_contact").getValue();

if (contact == null) {
            return;
        }

var serverUrl = Xrm.Page.context.getClientUrl();
        var oDataSelect = serverUrl + "/XRMServices/2011/OrganizationData.svc/ContactSet?$select=MobilePhone&$filter=ContactId eq guid'" + contact[0].id + "'";

var retrieveReq = new XMLHttpRequest();
        retrieveReq.open("GET", oDataSelect, false);