CRM2011: Waits and Timeouts in Workflows - How efficient are they? RRS feed

• Question

•   

Workflows are one of those features in CRM which really makes the application come alive. It’s always great to show a workflow in process to a potential new client. I’ve been playing with workflows for some time, but there is one element of a workflow that perplexes me. Perhaps it’s because I’m an application developer and I think I can do the job more efficiently, rather than trusting the system.

Reactive and On-Demand workflows  I totally get (and love), but just how efficient are Waits and Timeouts in CRM?  

Suppose I had a Recursive Timeout workflow that waited 7 days and then checked the account balance to see if it was over a certain value.

If it wasn’t it would call itself again waiting another 7 days. But if it was, it sends an email reminder to the Finance department and then calls itself again waiting another 7 days.

Doesn’t sound too bad does it? (and yes I know I could of done reactive workflow on the balance update, this is to illustrate the issue as simply as I can)!

But what if I have 100,000 customers in my CRM database. That’s 100,000 workflows running and waiting. What issues does this cause for the general operation of CRM.

As a developer I could create 1 job that checked 100,000 conditions in a one-off hit once a week, but a CRM only solution that would require 100,000 jobs checking just 1 condition.

Does it matter? Am I worrying about nothing in my drive to make CRM as efficient as possible and I should trust it to do the job.

Any comments or suggests gratefully received.

Steve

Tuesday, February 28, 2012 4:16 PM

Answers

• Hi Lemonje,

CRM2011 workflow is built using Workflow Foundation (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/netframework/aa663328) and so generally performance is quite good

When a workflow hits a wait condition, it is serialised to a database record and so is no longer in memory. The Wait conditions fall into two categories: