none
Home Computer Repair - Need OS Cds for all versions of windows RRS feed

• Question

• Hello, I just started doing computer repair on the side...

I have multiple instances where the client needs the OS reinstalled and they have lost the cd.

There has to be a better solution then going to http://support.microsoft.com/kb/326246/en-us
    and waiting up to a month to order replacement media everytime.... otherwise I will have to charge all my clients double for the hassle.

I have a technet plus subscription but none of the consumer isos are available. I.e. no xp home, windows 2000, windows 98.

If go out and bite the bullet and order a OEM xp home cd (with the license which I don't need, but apparently this is the only way to get what I want) will I be able to reinstall on multiple pcs by using the serial printed on the COA sticker on the machine?

My goal is this --> I want to build a OS library so that I can immediately have the ability to reinstall the OS on any computer that has a vaild serial on its COA without going through all this.

Also, not really sure about retail XP home and OEM... will serial numbers from both work on either cd, or is that another cd i need to order?

Very frustrated, everthing I am doing is legal, but I feel like I am jumping through a thousand hoops.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,

Charlie

• Changed type RickImAPC Thursday, January 8, 2009 4:46 PM Recovery Media Question
    Thursday, January 8, 2009 11:55 AM

Answers

• Charlie,

Thanks for visiting the Windows Genuine Advantage (WGA) program forum. Your post is out of scope for this forum, as well as out of my area of expertise. Here we deal with Validation issues as they affect individual users.