Exam 70-640 Prerequisites? RRS feed

• Question

• Good Morning,

I am interestedin pursuing the MCITP-Server Administrator and I would start with the 70-640 exam.  My main concern is, should I have a certain credential or level of knowledge going into this exam?  Currently I have an Associates degree in computer systems (graduated in 2004 so I forget most of what I learned), I am A+ certified and I have a tier 1 entry level IT job.  I don't have much experience with servers but I have done basic tasks in Active Directory.  I just want to know if you need to really know a lot going in or if you can start from scratch and pick everything up along the way based on where I'm already at.  I would appreciate any help you have to offer!

Thanks
    Friday, November 27, 2009 2:00 PM

Answers

• There aren't any prerequisites.  However, having a working knowledge of networking will definitely help.  For study materials, take a look at either the MS Press or Sybex books, along with training videos from providers such as CBT Nuggets, TestOut or Trainsignal.  I'd suggest avoiding sites, such as the one referenced above (forum.4shared.com) as these sites tend to promote the illegal sharing of resources (and can contain potentially hazardous files that could infect your computer).
    • Proposed as answer by NoDeal Tuesday, December 1, 2009 6:42 AM
    • Marked as answer by Rubel Khan Wednesday, January 6, 2010 8:03 PM
    Monday, November 30, 2009 8:10 PM
    Answerer

All replies

• There aren't any prerequisites.  However, having a working knowledge of networking will definitely help.  For study materials, take a look at either the MS Press or Sybex books, along with training videos from providers such as CBT Nuggets, TestOut or Trainsignal.  I'd suggest avoiding sites, such as the one referenced above (forum.4shared.com) as these sites tend to promote the illegal sharing of resources (and can contain potentially hazardous files that could infect your computer).