none
Should I pursue MCITP even though it is being phased out? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I had a few questions related to MCITP, and I am really hoping someone can help me. I've searched all through the forums, here and elsewhere, and can't find a clear answer.

I recently passed 70-685 and I am currently studying for 70-680 (Configuring Windows 7:MCTS).

Question 1.
    If I passed 70-685, is it likely I would have the knowledge already to sit 70-680, as presumably 70-685 builds off of 70-680? I am currently studying and running my own virtual set-up at home, but it currently seems very similar to what I already know/have learned.

Questions 2.
    It appears Microsoft are phasing out 70-680/70-685 by the end of July next year. Is it still worth me pursuing MCITP through 70-680, or should I focus my energy elsewhere? My understanding is that MCITP automatically gets converted to MCSA without any further exams (currently). Is this correct? Enterprise is still installing/running Windows 7 so presumably they still need people qualified in configuring it?

Thanks for any advice anyone can provide.

Wednesday, July 18, 2012 10:18 AM

Answers

All replies

• Regarding your questions:

1. You may or may not have all of the knowledge/skills to pass 70-680.  The best recommendation would be to get the latest study guide and work through it, and the related questions.
    2. 70-680/685 doesn't appear on the exams to be retired page.  Most corporations are adopting  Windows 7, so having the MCITP for Win7 will be of benefit.  Many corporations have indicated that they won't be adopting Windows 8.
    Wednesday, July 18, 2012 12:43 PM
    Answerer
  • If you look here you can see there will be an upgrade path to MCSE Dektop
    Infrastructure. So it does make sense to get your windows 7 certification. It is
    still valuable among the community and it will help you to upgrade to the next