locked
What happen to deleted records during Dynamics CRM 2011 upgrade RRS feed

  • Question

  • Hello Everyone,

    I would like to go for an upgrade to Dynamics CRM 2011 from MS CRM 4.0. In 2011, I see some of the database columns are removed and one such column is DeletionStateCode. I understand the reason of removing this column as we no more see soft deletes in 2011.

    Say suppose, there is some deleted data in MSCRM 4.0 with DeletionStateCode=2 and my deletion service has not cleared the data yet.

    At this moment, if I start my upgrade process, will this deleted data gets automatically removed during upgradation process? If it gets removed, then does it happen by initiating the deletion service internally by the upgradation process?

    Please clarify.


    -Thanks


    Perfectionist - http://wwwdotdinesh.blogspot.com

    Monday, March 26, 2012 1:19 PM

Answers

  • Yes, one of the steps of the upgrade process when you import the database is to do deletion cleanup, exactly as if the deletion service had been run.

    There are also (unsupported) ways to reconfigure the deletion service on CRM4 to run on a different schedule (or "now").


    Hope this helps. Adam Vero, MCT

    • Marked as answer by Perfectionist Thursday, March 29, 2012 6:48 AM
    Tuesday, March 27, 2012 10:11 PM

All replies