WHS 2011 Firewall turned off alert RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I've been running WHS for a few months without issue. I have various things running on it, primerily TVersity for media sharing, SqueezeBox and Perforce.

Recently the alert vew has started reporting 'Windows Firewall is turned off on the server' as far as I can see, this isn't the case, opening the firewall setting reports it all turned on. If I click 'Try to repair the issue' in the alert view, it takes couple of seconds, the alert vanishes and things seem ok again. If I refresh though, the alert reappears.

Also around the same time this started happening, I've started having issues with devices being able to see my Tversity server. It seems to be connected to the firewall issue as the way to fix it for a short while seems to be to 'Try to repair the issue' on the firewall alert and then restart the Tversity server.

Any ideas what's going on? I can only presume it was some windows update as nothing else has really changed recently?

Friday, October 21, 2011 11:18 AM

All replies

• So no ideas on this then?

I've been having a play around with the last updates installed automatically and seem to have got the media servering working again (tversity and the WHS integrated one) by removing:

Cumulative Security Update for Internet Explorer 9 for Windows Server 2008 R2 x64 Edition (KB2586448)

At least everything had been running ok until WHS auto-updated it again last night and everything went off again.

I've disabled auto-update now and will monitor it.

I'm guessing the permanant (false?) alert about the firewall being disabled can be ignored but will likely be one of the other 4 recent updates?

Tuesday, October 25, 2011 12:51 PM
  • Could you please submit a bug for this on Connect? Though I don't have the same problem, so it could be related to the presence of Tversity, rather than the update you mention, any time a Windows update affects other tools I think Microsoft needs to be told. :)