none
vbscript "activex component can't create object: 'ADODB.Connection'" RRS feed

• Question

• I have an HTA file that is basically a compilation of scripts that I use, and share with others.  I've been developing it since 2011.  One of the earliest scripts added was searching AD for servers and returning what OU they were found in.  So to say the least, this has been a tried and true script.  Now all of a sudden last week, I started getting an error saying the script was causing the web browser to run slowly.  I rem'd out On Error Resume Next and found the offending line is 'Set objConnection = CreateObject("ADODB.Connection").  The error statement is "activex component can't create object: 'ADODB.Connection'".  I've checked with another person who uses my toolbox and they said it works just fine for them.  So luckily it's only affecting me right now, but who knows how long that will last.  My company locks down our computers so there's not a lot I can do to make changes to my computer.  I'll try anything you guys suggest, I just might not have rights to do so.

• Edited by Carl_S_S Monday, March 4, 2019 2:26 PM
    • Moved by Bill_Stewart Wednesday, September 4, 2019 6:46 PM This is not "design solution for me" forum
    Monday, March 4, 2019 2:24 PM

All replies

• Is this file on your machine and do you have read access? (I'm running Win10 Home.)

C:\Program Files\Common Files\System\ado\msado15.dll

Open an administrator command prompt and run:

regsvr32 "C:\Program Files\Common Files\System\ado\msado15.dll"

If they did not give you admin access, then you will need to contact your support team for help. 

Monday, March 4, 2019 2:43 PM
  • So I suppose I should have stated the OS, it's WIndows 7 Enterprise.  I do have a way to get admin rights to the command prompt and ran the line as you stated but no change.  I figured I didn't have to, but rebooted anyway, no change.
    Monday, March 4, 2019 3:46 PM
  • Please post the code you have and the exact error.