Contact Permissions in OCS 2007 RRS feed

• Question

• I have a script that prepopulates every users contact lists with most employees in the company (say round 95 or so).

Under OCS 2005 - as an administrator i could open each AD user and set up the OCS notify permissions for each user - and set it to allow everyone - rather than ask permission (notify) for each user that has added employee X to their contact list.

Under OCS 2007 this setting has gone - and now when i repopulated our contact lists (since i had to delete OCS 2005 DB before i could install OCS 2007) - everyone is getting notified (and being asked wether to allow/block each user).

Surely this functionality has not been removed - and im just not looking in the right place.

Can someone let me know where abouts I should be looking to find these settings.

I would appreciate if someone does have the answer that they cc me directly as well as to this list.

Regards,

_\|/_   Kyle P Brophy NDBC, MCP
          (o o)   IT Manager - Elastomer Products Ltd
    ---oOO-(_)-OOo------------------------------------------------- 
                Email: kbrophy@elastomer.co.nz(NOSPAM)

Wednesday, June 6, 2007 11:04 PM

Answers

• Hi Kyle,

In the communicator.adm that comes with the documentation there is a group policy setting that can be enabled. NotificationsForNewSubscribers

Communicator 2007 shows notifications for new subscribers, unless the user has selected otherwise in the Options dialog box.
    0 or not set = User control (default).
    1 = Communicator shows notifications for new subscribers. The Notify me when someone adds me to his/her contact list check box in the Options dialog box is selected and unavailable.
    2 = Communicator does not show notifications for new subscribers. The Notify me when someone adds me to his/her contact list check box in the Options dialog box is not selected, and is unavailable.

Let me know if that worked.

Wednesday, June 13, 2007 7:34 PM

All replies

• Hi Kyle,