Is there a standalone download of the Microsoft ATS Engine? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm having a problem with Remote Assistance and have found the "Diagnose and fix Windows Firewall service problems automatically" Fix-It tool.  The first time I tried, I got an error during the PowerShell download stage, so I downloaded and installed it manually.  I then ran the Fix-It again, and this time got an "unexpected error" while downloading the MATS.  I think my work firewall settings are preventing the Fix-It from downloading what it needs to run.

Is there a standalone download of the Microsoft ATS Engine?

I'm running WinXP SP3 in a corporate Active Directory domain where Remote Assistance works on every one of my colleagues' PCs.

(My Remote Assistance probably stopped working because of a defective software install - I'm an IT Support Analyst.  Also, while trying to fix my R/Assist, I've become very conversant with Terminal Services, Remote Desktop Help Session Manager service, Windows firewall, etc.)

Thanks in advance for any help you may be able to offer,

John MacAulay

Wednesday, February 2, 2011 6:24 PM

All replies

• Hi John, 

Thanks for your posted. May I know, do you make sure you have already installed .net framework version of 2.0 or 3.5. 

Q: 'Is there a standalone download of the Microsoft ATS Engine?'  A: I'm sorry there is no standalone download of the Microsoft MATS Engine. The MATS full name is 'Microsoft Automated Troubleshooting Service', it as a windows service to check the 'Fix it Center' application's run environment conditions. Run 'Fix it center' conditions was need Pwoershell 1.0 and .Net framework 2.0/3.5. 

Please Mark as Answered If this is helpful Or Un-Mark as Answered if it is not helpful.

Best Regards,
    Yan Jun

Wednesday, February 9, 2011 5:31 AM