Questions regarding Windows Vista License Transfer RRS feed

• Question

• I have a Windows Vista Ultimate license that I got separately from my Dell GX280 desktop. The desktop itself came with Windows XP Pro license. I've been using both OS for more than 2 years. Suddenly 2 days ago my PC's motherboard died. Now I need to replace the motherboard. While I am at it, I was thinking of upgrading both the processor & memory modules since the Dell had Pentium 4 & DDR memory modules.

I really don't care much about Win XP Pro, but was wondering will the Vista license be transferred? Or How to transfer it legally?

Note that I am not planning to re-install windows, only replacing/upgrading the hardware.
    Thursday, June 18, 2009 10:05 AM

Answers

• Hello saydel,

If the copy of Vista is Retail, then yes, you can use it on as many computers as you wish (as long as it is only being used on One computer at a time). Replacing the Motherboard or Processer would have no affect.

If the Vista is a OEM version, then no, OEM Licenses are Tied to the first computer they are installed on.  You can not transfer it to any other computers. The Motherboard of a computer is regarded as "The Computer". So replacing the Motherboard (for any other reason then Hardware Failure) would cause a "New" computer to be created and the OEM Vista would not be licensed to run on it. 

Thank you,
    Darin MS
    Monday, June 22, 2009 7:49 PM
  • Hi saydel,

Ok, if it came in it's own box, I assume it's a Retail License, so you are good to install it on another computer (or the same computer with a new motherboard).