none
Folder Template Batch File RRS feed

• General discussion

• Dear Scripting guys,

My name is Mark and i'm an engineer. We use Solid Edge for our base CAD modelling and are currently in testing phase to implement SEDM. SEDM is a basic PLM Software package included with Solid Edge.

Windows explorer is used to view the SEDM vault folder.  For the first setup of this folder, I selected all the columns in the folder view i required. I applied this folder style to all sub folders through folder properties dialog and folder options dialog. I turned off my pc and now i need to reset the view. The complete template I have set up is missing. If this problem occurs for each colleague, I have to reset the folder templates for each colleague on monday and tell them not to turn off their pc. But then this task will become a standard task for me to do first thing in the morning each monday (we are working with 15 Solid Edge users). So i was thinking of a sort of batch file to setup the folder template on it's own. Then each colleague just run's the batch file, or I put the batch file in the startup folder of windows. So this so called batch file should be doing the following:

-go to the folder of the SEDM Vault

-Right click on a column > more

-Turn on the view for specific columns for example: Title, SE Status, Author, Name (and if possible with a fixed column width for each)

-Apply this to each sub folder

Still haven't found a good solution for my problem. Any help is welcome and if someone has found any work arround i'm glad to hear this.

Thanks in advance,

Markona12

• Changed type Bill_Stewart Thursday, September 5, 2019 9:43 PM
    • Moved by Bill_Stewart Thursday, September 5, 2019 9:43 PM Off-topic
    Monday, July 15, 2019 12:01 PM

All replies

• You are clearly not a computer engineer.