locked
overwriting backup RRS feed

  • Question

  • Our Windows Live One Care is set up to backup to our computers to the network drive.  The drive frequently fills up with backups and we need to delete them.  I have the article about deleting backup files.

     

    My question has to do with whether I can have settings which eliminate this requirement.  Is there a way to set up the backup file so that it overwrites the existing file and thereby keeps only the most recent backup on the server?

     

    Thanks.

    Tuesday, August 19, 2008 6:24 PM

Answers

  • No, unfortunately, the only solution is a periodic deletion manually and then starting a new, full backup for each PC. Or starting a new full backup and then deleting the old one(s). A backup set is defined as the first full one along with all subsequent incremental backups, which only include new and changed files. In addition, a catalog of the backup is maintained, showing the system state for points in time so that you can restore the data (no programs, settings, or system files) to a previous iteration.

    -steve

     

    Tuesday, August 19, 2008 6:47 PM
    Moderator