Supervised LDA RRS feed

• Question

• Dear Infer.NET community:

As I am still learning the details of Infer.NET, I came across an implementation need that I cant' seem to get right after 2 days of trying a couple of things, perhaps I am going in the wrong direction.

I am trying to implement Supervised LDA. The model itself doesn't matter as much as this issue that I am having: Essentially the issue is using the empirical topic counts in the dot product with a gaussian-distributed weight vector, inside a logistic factor (BernoulliFromLogOdds). I have tried a few things, but can't quite get it. First, I tried using a Multinomial VariableArray instead of a Discrete variable for drawing topics. The issue I ran into was converting the array into a vector type to be used as an argument to InnerProduct factor. Besides the SetTo, or ConstraintEqual (which gave me problems), I couldn't see any other way. Here is sketch of what I tried to write, as it illustrates the problem (in this case I explicitly assume only two topics and do it in a rolled out way for illustration purpose):

class Program { static void Main(string[] args) { Range n = new Range(10); // number of words Range k = new Range(2); // number of latent topics

// indicates whether nth word is in topic 1 VariableArray<double> indicatorsTopicOne = Variable.Array<double>(n);

// indicates whether nth word is in topic 0 VariableArray<double> indicatorsTopicZero = Variable.Array<double>(n);

// topic draws for each word VariableArray<int> topics = Variable.Array<int>(n);

// prior on topics Variable<Vector> theta = Variable<Vector>.DirichletSymmetric(k.SizeAsInt, 1.0);