none
Quit Script If User Does Not Enter Number in a Select Case Input RRS feed

• General discussion

• Hello Scripters,

I am working on a utility with very little input from the user.  Mostly point and click.  Most the user would need to do is enter a number which will correspond to a string of text which will be used to generate the commandline further down into the script.

I would like to introduce error handling which will end the script if the user enter anything else beside 1, 2 or 3.  I have tried Select Case Else with no success.

I tried an example (excerpt below) found in the Microsoft WSH and VBScript Programming for the Absolute Beginner, 4th ed.

Select Case strAnswer
      Case "rock"
        If intGetRandomNumber = 3 Then strResults = "Tie"
        If intGetRandomNumber = 2 Then strResults = "You Win"
        If intGetRandomNumber = 1 Then strResults = "You Lose"
      Case Else
        objWshShell.Popup "Sorry. Your answer was not recognized. " & "Please type rock, paper, or scissors in all lowercase letters."
        WScript.Quit
    End Select
    Thanks,

Thanks, CAZan

• Changed type Bill_Stewart Tuesday, November 21, 2017 6:49 PM
    • Moved by Bill_Stewart Tuesday, November 21, 2017 6:49 PM This is not "do my homework for me" forumn
    Monday, June 12, 2017 3:19 PM

All replies

• Is this a homework question?

-- Bill Stewart [Bill_Stewart]

Monday, June 12, 2017 3:37 PM
  • where ever you get the input from the user, run the check there. I know you're working in VBScript but in PowerShell, you could run something like the below:

do {$input = Read-Host "enter 1, 2 or 3"}while (("1","2","3") -notcontains $input)

Hopefully, this gives you some inspiration :) 

Monday, June 12, 2017 3:57 PM
  • Homework Question?

Thanks, CAZan

Monday, June 12, 2017 10:57 PM
  • Hi Mark,