Upgrade to OEM from Trial - No options to "reinstall server" RRS feed

• Question

• I've been using WHS for 4 months with the evaluation version.  Like the product a great deal.  Being in the less than 30 days zone of the trial remaining, I purchased an OEM version.  Read the forums to prepare and attempted a reinstall...

Problem - Booting from DVD drive simply loads my trial version of WHS, I log in, then the install screen pops up in the "finalizing installation" phase.  Completes, reboots, does it again, and again, and again.

I get no options to "reinstall server".  I have a primary harddrive partioned to C: (sys) and D: (data) and 2 connected USB drives.  I'm on the verge of formatting the drive and starting over, but was hoping someone could point me in the right direction prior to going to extremes :)

Thanks
    Sunday, January 3, 2010 6:37 PM

Answers

• I get the BIOS message "Booting from CD/DVD drive", the DVD drive spins up, and then it loads identically as it would if I were booting from the hard drive with the exception that after I log in it then shows the desk top, then jumps to the WHS installation screen at step 4 (finalizing installation).
    Then I would guess you have a problem with either the DVD drive or the media.
    Wednesday, January 6, 2010 1:37 AM

All replies

• Oh, I don't get the "install server" options either, just boots to the trial, log in screen, then does the above described.
    Sunday, January 3, 2010 6:39 PM
  • I've been using WHS for 4 months with the evaluation version.  Like the product a great deal.  Being in the less than 30 days zone of the trial remaining, I purchased an OEM version.  Read the forums to prepare and attempted a reinstall...

Problem - Booting from DVD drive simply loads my trial version of WHS, I log in, then the install screen pops up in the "finalizing installation" phase.  Completes, reboots, does it again, and again, and again.