The request failed with HTTP status 401: unauthorized (CRM 4.0 configuration wizard) RRS feed

• Question

•  

Hi,

I am new in Microsoft Dynamic CRM 4.0. I installed the Microsoft Dynamic CRM 4.0 on the server image on my laptop and I installed Microsoft Dynamic CRM for outlook setup in my windows XP.

I think the next step is running Microsoft Dynamic CRM 4.0 configuration wizard. But the problem is when I run this Wizard it is asking me for the Intranet Address. I enter the image server’s name which is http://2k3virt/ and when I press next I receive this error:

The request failed with HTTP status 401: unauthorized

I don’t know what I am doing wrong!

I installed the Microsoft Dynamic CRM for outlook setup on another laptop which has windows XP too and I have the same issue.

Please tell me what should I do and I need step by step help.

Thanks,

Sep

Sep
    Monday, February 2, 2009 7:29 PM

Answers

• Did you add yourself as a user in CRM?  Go to Settings, Administration, Users, select the New button and add the user that you use to login into your PC.  Give yourself the System Admin role by selecting Roles from the User record after you save the new User record.

Once you have the user setup, try accessing the URL again from a Web browser.  Let's confirm  you can access CRM from the Web browser.  Once you do that successfully, then you should not have a problem with Outlook.
    Best Regards, Donna
    Monday, February 2, 2009 8:24 PM

All replies

• Did you add yourself as a user in CRM?  Go to Settings, Administration, Users, select the New button and add the user that you use to login into your PC.  Give yourself the System Admin role by selecting Roles from the User record after you save the new User record.

Once you have the user setup, try accessing the URL again from a Web browser.  Let's confirm  you can access CRM from the Web browser.  Once you do that successfully, then you should not have a problem with Outlook.
    Best Regards, Donna