MOS clarification RRS feed

  • Question

  • I have been looking into the MOS certifications. I noticed that for Expert and Master, there are certain exams one needs to pass in order to earn the certification. However, this isn't mentioned for the basic MOS certification. I did see in a question from 2012 (https://social.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/78d4899a-54b0-49a4-970f-cb5a888e0e7a/how-does-the-microsoft-office-specialist-certification-work?forum=CertGeneral) that you only need to take one exam to earn the certification, but is this still applicable for today?

    These are the pages I have been looking at for information concerning the certifications:

    • Microsoft Office Specialist (https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/learning/mos-certification.aspx)
    • Microsoft Office Specialist Expert (https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/learning/mos-expert-certification.aspx)
    • Microsoft Office Specialist Master (https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/learning/mos-master-certification.aspx)

    Friday, February 16, 2018 8:03 PM


  • Hi Christian.

    In the overview page for the Microsoft Office Specialist (MOS) Certification you can read that you have to "Pass any of 5 exams to become certified in that program." (quoted).
    If you want to get certified either as Microsoft Office Specialist Expert or Microsoft Office Specialist Master, you have to pass more than one certification exam, as you can read here and here.


    Luigi Bruno

    Saturday, February 17, 2018 6:09 PM