New WHS build seems very SLOW - How to test? RRS feed

• Question

• I'm a server newb.  Just built a WHS server and it seems to be running well, except slow.  I'm still at the loading all my old data stage (and at this pace, will be for weeks.  The first 1Tb drive I loaded took over 24 hours.  Then, as a test I started a 400 GB move, while trying to access files from the server.  Couldn't do it - so slow that low bandwidth video could not play smooth.  I've read a few tips (like turning off folder duplication, etc. during the mass importation), but I think I have a network throughput problem with the server.  I've been using another desktop as a makeshift server for years (8-10 external usb drives) and have never seen this slow of performance.  Can anybody point me to some utilities or controls in WHS to help me figure out whether it is performing as it should?

Thanks.
    Tuesday, August 4, 2009 3:47 PM

All replies

• What motherboard do you use? I've seen a similar problem on a board with an AMD 600 chipset. The problem was that the drives where configured for AHCI mode in bios but the driver was not loaded. Please go into bios and check the setting for your drives. Should you see AHCI change this back to IDE.

If this doesn't help please provide more information about your hardware.

Martin
    LightsOut - Power Management for Windows Home Server http://www.home-server-blog.de/add-ins/lightsout/#en
    Tuesday, August 4, 2009 4:06 PM
  • Thanks.  I'll check that tonight.  It's an VIA AMD Mobo, I think, but I forget which one.  What I can tell you is that I'm running (so far) a 1 TB internal SATA drive and two 1.5 TB Seagate external USB drives.  I did have some other driver issues during the build, so this wouldn't shock me.    Any suggestions as to how, where to pull real performance metrics so that I can cease paranoia (hopefully) at some point?
    Tuesday, August 4, 2009 4:31 PM