locked
Word 2007 Workgroup Templates -- Help RRS feed

  • Question

  •  

    I created a Workgroup Letterhead Template for a client that triggers with a macro.  I have the Ltrhd Template on the G: (shared drive) & have set it up as their "Workgroup Templates" on each PC (so that Network Administrator can edit the letterhead as necessary).  They click an icon to retrieve that Template through MS Office button / New / Recently Used Templates.  Then they save their letter to a different part of the G:. 

     

    PROBLEM:  When they reopen their saved document (and it has been saved as a document, not as a Template), they are getting an "already in use, do you want to open as a Read Only" prompt.  They have to cancel this box twice before their doc opens.  The Read Only box always shows the name of the last person who used the Template as having the document open -- remember, this is on an already Saved document! 

     

    I cannot figure out why the Read Only prompt is continually presenting itself.  Any ideas?

     

    Thanks!

    Wednesday, December 26, 2007 4:56 PM

All replies