SyncSession questions RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, i'm new to this SSCE but i'm interested of what it can do, so i did some readings and experimenting with different database, but i was hit by a problem and would like someone who's kind enough to explain to me.

do all syncsession's strings (SyncClientIdHash,SyncNewReceivedAnchor, etc) only supports lower case strings? Cos i'm currently experimenting it on Borland Interbase 2007 Dev edition, and i'm getting errors like "Unable to set session parameters in DbServerSyncProvider. Cannot obtain the value for command parameter : SYNC_LAST RECEIVED_ANCHOR." (when i used uppercase like SyncSession.SyncLastReceivedAnchor.TOUPPER() ) or "Cannot find column sync_last_received_anchor" (when i didn't use uppercase). Are there any work around for this?

• Moved by Max Wang_1983 Friday, April 22, 2011 10:59 PM forum consolidation (From:SyncFx - Microsoft Sync Framework Database Providers [ReadOnly])
    Monday, April 16, 2007 7:03 AM

Answers

• Hi Aleksey,

The client provider stores an anchor for each table to address the scenario you just pointed out.

One important thing you to note here is that tables with relationships (pk-fk) should synchronize together as a group this is to avoid constraint failures.

Thanks,

Rafik

Wednesday, April 18, 2007 7:41 PM

All replies

• Hmm, Interesting... I expect it to fail. The system expects the same names as you see them as public properties of SyncSession interface.
    I am curious to why do you call ToUpper() on the SyncSession.SyncLastReceivedAnchor?

Thanks

Tuesday, April 17, 2007 1:18 AM
  • well.. it's because of interbase's sql format, by default every word is converted to uppercase when passed to the server, for example
     " select * from table1 where update_timestamp <> : sync_last_received_anchor"
    will be read as
     "SELECT * FROM TABLE1 WHERE UPDATE_TIMESTAMP <> : SYNC_LAST_RECEIVED_ANCHOR",