Find text between 2 Strings and replace it. RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am new to PowerShell scripting.

I need help to do the following;

- I have an original file (let me call it File 1) that has following contents;

---------

File 1.dat

--------

#
    #
    #           CHICAGO                   7030
    #           CAIRO                       7032
    #           CHAMPAIGN               7050
    #           FLINT                        7023
    #
    #
    #
    #
    #
    #
    #    CHICAGO  7030
    #
    #ID,SITEID,SITENAME
    204608,348140,NORTH GREEN
    204761,348200,NORTH BLUFORD
    204816,348245,BLUFORD
    204818,348245,BLUFORD
    #
    # CAIRO  7032

#ID,SITEID,SITENAME
    201448008,343235,BUDA
    201448309,343246,BUDA
    306375,343110,FILLMORE
    306376,343110,FILLMORE
    306394,343105,FILLMORE
    #
    #
    # CHAMPAIGN                      7050
    #
    #ID,SITEID,SITENAME
    56637116,341620_2408,240_95_IS
    57178058,341275_1655,165_50_IS
    57180467,341390_1768,176_78_IS
    #
    #

There is another file ( file 2 ) which is updated by a Web Service which basically updates data of a Division.

--------------

File 2.dat

-------------

#
    #           CHAMPAIGN               7051
    #
    #
    # CHAMPAIGN                      7051
    #
    #ID,SITEID,SITENAME
    newdata,newdata,newdata
    newdata,newdata,newdata
    newdata,newdata,newdata
    #

- I want to update/replace the existing data that is present in File 1 with the new data in File 2 - with the Division that is updated in File 2. Basically copy the contents from File 2 to File 1 at the location where Division name is (# CHAMPAIGN 7050), also update the Division version (from 7050 to 7051) at two places.

Any suggestions would be most welcome.

-Thanks

Matt

• Moved by Bill_Stewart Tuesday, April 14, 2020 4:36 PM This is not "fix/debug/rewrite my script for me" forum
    Tuesday, December 24, 2019 6:29 PM

All replies

• I need help to do the following