Custom provider: Sync Services for ADO.NET 2.0 vs. Sync Framework? RRS feed

• Question

• I have data in a SQL Server 2008 database, and I need to sync it via a proprietary REST-like web API to a similar (though not identical) schema.  I know I need to write a custom provider.  But, it's not clear to me which kind is best to write, one that uses the Sync Framework (i.e. subclassed from KnowledgeSyncProvider, using SyncOrchestrator), or the Sync Services (subclassed from ClientSyncProvider, using SyncAgent).  It looks like you can't mix-and-match them (i.e., using a KnowledgeSyncProvider against a (for instance) DbServerSyncProvider).

I'm brand new to Sync, turning to it when I realized that writing a bunch of sync logic would be duplication of effort.  I assume that leveraging change tracking built into SQL 2008 would tilt me in the ClientSyncProvider direction, but, it's unclear to me whether writing 2 KnowledgeSyncProvider providers (1 for the API, 1 to use SQL change tracking) is easier than writing 1 based on ClientSyncProvider.

A little more background:  the local SQL Server is the server in this situation, and the web API is the client.  Data will be flowing both ways, but, there will never be conflicts to resolve (data after it reaches it's destination will always be read-only).

Thoughts?

Thanks,
    Brad
    • Moved by Max Wang_1983 Thursday, April 21, 2011 1:21 AM forum consolidation (From:SyncFx - Technical Discussion [ReadOnly])
    Tuesday, April 21, 2009 6:28 PM

Answers

• Yes, Mike, I believe you are correct.  Thanks for posting!  I was going to say what you said, after I asked the question and did more investigation, and got distracted when I was composing a reply and didn't return.