none
Powershell Script - pause until OK button pressed RRS feed

• Question

• I'm sorry if this is an obvious question - I'm no scripting expert but trying to get better!

The problem I'm trying to solve is this.  We have users who use Microsoft Direct Access on the laptops / tablets we issue them.  Sometimes these users need to connect to a public WiFi hotspot, which requires them to accept terms and conditions / log in.  With a proxy set via Group Policy they're unable to reach that landing page unless they go into internet settings and disable the proxy.

Currently they have access to do that - they shouldn't be able to though and I want to lock those setting down.

The script I'm putting together uses powershell to disable the proxy, then they're presented with a dialog box telling them to go to the landing page and complete the connection.  Once done, they press OK, and the proxy is re-enabled.  All the proxy stuff in the script is working fine.

I need to pause the script while the dialog is active, and not resume it until they've pressed ok.  Pressing OK sends a return code of 1 to powershell.  Currently, the script is just running all the way through to the end.

I've found plenty of info online about pausing a script and waiting for a key stroke, but I'd much rather have a GUI dialog box presented to the users.  Does anyone have a method to do this?  Can I have powershell looping until it sees that return code appear?  Any hints much appreciated!

• Moved by Bill_Stewart Friday, July 27, 2018 4:14 PM This is not "scripts on demand"
    Tuesday, April 17, 2018 12:16 AM

All replies

• Yes you can have a dialog box that does almost anything you want.  And yes you can write a script that can wait on almost anything.

Without a script or an error message there is little we can do beyond this to help you.

The easiest way to bypass a defined proxy with a one time access is to add a route that accesses the resource you wish to enable.

\_(ツ)_/