Newbie building a cheap WHS system RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

I am completely new to WHS and I am planning to put together a cheap system.  I plan on using it for backing up 2 PC's and ASP.NET / PHP web development along with hosting a small website.  I do not plan on streaming huge video files though.

The hardware I am considering is:

Intel D525MW Atom D525 1.66GHz VGA Out Mini-ITX Motherboard

1 x Seagate Barracuda © Green SATA 6Gb/s 2TB Hard Drive

1 x Corsair 2GB DDR3 1066MHz/PC3-8500 Laptop Memory SODIMM

CiT MTX-003B Black Mini ITX Case (300 watt PSU)

Windows Home Server 2011

This build will come in at just below £200

Can anybody give me their views on this and possible problems or things to consider.  I plan on running the system 24/7, so will also want something that is energy efficient, reliable and quiet.  Also if I later decide to replace M/B for a higher spec, will I need another copy of WHS.

Your comments will be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Wednesday, August 31, 2011 1:44 PM

Answers

• ... and ASP.NET / PHP web development along with hosting a small website.

This is not something Windows Home Server is good at, or designed for. There are ways to do it anyway, but you will definitely be "rolling your own", and there's a very limited amount of support available to you even via the community for this. Have you considered plain old Windows Server 2008 R2?
    I'm not on the WHS team, I just post a lot. :)
    Wednesday, August 31, 2011 2:46 PM
  • You are just about hitting the lower end of the hardware specification with that build - I would be inclined to double the memory to 4GB for not a lot of additional outlay. You make no mention of making provision for backing up the server - a disk failure will lead to a total loss of your data without it.