none
Setting up a contoso.com domain RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm currently studying for my MCTS: Configuring and Troubleshooting Windows Server 2008 Active Directory Domain Services exam, and have my own Hyper-V lab set up for this purpose. What I'm having trouble with however, is properly setting up the contoso.com domain so I can have my VM's "seeing" each other on the virtual network. Microsoft doesn't provide any steps for this, and I would like to have it set up the same way as it's done in the classroom. How would I go about this? Do I need two network cards?

Thanks guys.

• Edited by DGH84 Saturday, February 2, 2013 4:57 PM
    Saturday, February 2, 2013 4:53 PM

Answers

• Then you are good with just one Ethernet or you don't even require one as you can assign an Internal Network Connection to your virtual machines. As long as the gateway is set to the same, the two virtual machine (Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008) will be able to communicate with each other. 

Cheers.

Regards,
    Milton Goh
    MCSE, MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
    Blog: blog.nerdytwo.com
    Twitter: @miltongoh

• Marked as answer by DGH84 Wednesday, February 6, 2013 2:01 AM
    Monday, February 4, 2013 3:46 PM

All replies

• Hi DGH84,

when install Windows Server 2008 at least you need two Network cards, also in 70-640 lab there is a Server 2008 have a 3 Network Cards like "6425A-NYC-RAS"

Regards,

MCT / MCITP / MCTS / MCSA / MCSE / MCP / C|EH / CCNA

Saturday, February 2, 2013 5:33 PM
  • I don't have any way of installing additional pysical NICs so could I use a USB Ethernet network card instead. Where could I get instructions on setting up the Contoso domain for this cert exam?

Do I also need two hard drives set up for RAID?

• Edited by DGH84 Saturday, February 2, 2013 7:04 PM
    Saturday, February 2, 2013 5:50 PM
  • Anyone? I have no idea how to set up this lab.
    Monday, February 4, 2013 1:38 AM
  • Hi,