none
Microsoft Money 2004 RRS feed

• Question

• I have Microsoft Money 2004. I used it on a pc which has now been replaced with an iMac. I tried using new accounting software for the Mac but it did not compare with Money and required to big a learning investment. So I decided to install Parallels for Mac and Windows 8 just to run Money 2004 and innocently put the installation CD in the drive and expected autorun to do the rest. It did not. Instead I got an error message saying: "the Autorun inf file is missing or corrupt". After reading various threads here, I tried right clicking and "run as administrator" but that did not work. I then tried to troubleshoot compatibility and set it for Windows XP service pack 3 (which is what I had before) and that did not work either. I am not a programmer and had thought I had finally got Windows out of my life completely .. now this!
    Monday, June 3, 2013 12:12 PM

All replies

• I would try downloading and installing the appropriate regional version of Money from the links in the first post in this forum. This later version will import and convert your Money 2004. mny file.

Note that the regional versions have different data file formats and cannot read data files from other regions.  

If you have no success with this, post back with the version of Windows that you have installed on your iMAC.

Bill Becker

Monday, June 3, 2013 12:18 PM
  • Thanks for the prompt response, which through ignorance I am finding difficult to put into practice. I cannot find the first post in this forum. Also I do not have an mny file. I have a back up file which ends in mbf. As mentioned I am using Windows 8.
    Monday, June 3, 2013 2:15 PM
  • Here is the link to the first post in this forum:

http://social.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/money/thread/479281b2-90f9-42ca-85f7-644fc6e1e5c3