Problem accessing files on my WHS Shares (very very slow) RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I’m having problems with my WHS which I’m hoping someone here may be able to assist with. I have a HP ex470 that I’ve been using without issue for just under two years now. At the weekend I found that my media centre PC was having problems streaming video from it (wireless network accessing the files directly from a shared folder on the WHS), video was very jerky/unwatchable.

I then checked from a wired device and had the same problem. Attempted to access the WHS console and this also failed. RDP session to the WHS found that there was a problem with .Net (not sure if it was a failed update) but .Net 2 was corrupt preventing the console app from work.

Followed a couple of online guides and I believe I’ve got .Net re-installed and fixed (Console working and no more errors in the event log).  Thing is the problem with accessing files is still present with no errors in the event log indicating what it is. Also none of the four drives in stalled are reporting any fault and I’ve chkdsked the drives and all flagging as fine.

Although I’ve not started to get lots of file conflicts, had a couple to start with but not seems to be a whole load of them (I’ve powered off the WHS to be safe until I have a a fix to attempt).

Last thing of interest is that if I reboot the WHS the file accessing seems to be fine for about 10 mins and then after that it’s grinds to a crawl.

Very concerned at the moment as I have 2.5Tb of data on this box which I can’t even backup to do a full rebuild of the WHS. So any ideas on what this could be ?

Thanks
    Andy

Tuesday, April 21, 2009 11:54 AM

All replies

• Did you change any settings for your network (in another thread I did read about somebody experimenting with Jumbo frames, which caused a similar behavior).
    Try also to reset the router (and if necessary the switch) and get the latest firmware for the router, if it is not yet applied.