Windows Live OneCare - Restart of PC when Backup Starts RRS feed

• Question

• Hi.

I've recently unstalled an old version of OneCare that was working well untill the Firewall turned off & I was also unable to download updates either automatically or manually.

I followed all the instructions via the Help files and the final step was to uninstall & reinstall. Version 2 has now been installed and the original problems with the Firewall & Updates appear to have been fixed.

At the same time I upgraded my HD from the original 40Gb to a 500Gb, I have been using an external USB 500Gb drive for backup for about 9 months without any problems until the update of OneCare to the latest version.

As soon as the backup starts ie 1% into the backup, the PC restarts.

I have been talking to Onecare support and they suggested that some old Nortons products ie Password Manager would cause the problem. This was uninstalled reluctantly however it did not solve the problem.

Tec support then suggested I download Norton_Removal_Tools from Symantec, This has now been done, run, system restarted and the problem still exists.

Has anyone any suggestions of where to go from here?

Thanks

Saturday, July 26, 2008 7:07 AM

Answers

All replies

• If there were remnants of incompatible programs on your computer when you upgraded One Care it is possible that One Care did not install correctly. I suggest uninstalling One Care, run the cleanup tool - http://forums.microsoft.com/WindowsOneCare/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=828910&SiteID=2  then reinstall One Care. If this does not resolve the issue it would be best to continue to work with support.

Saturday, July 26, 2008 1:10 PM
  • I'm blue screening at about 1% also.  No changes in my OneCare settings. 

Did the Google thing first and found a reference to Acronos (SP?) and since I do have a new hard drive I did a through removal and then ran a registry cleaner.  Note: I had successfully backed up once since installing the new HD.