none
Trying to get WebSharingAppDemo to load and work RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am relatively new to programming and have rather been thrown in the deep end. I have come across several things.

Firstly, when I load the WebSharingAppDemo in either Visual C# or Visual WebDeveloper (both are 2008 Express editions), things seem to load okay except for the WebSyncContract project. I receive a message pop-up saying that the projec type is not supported. I can't seem to find out why this would be.

Secondly, as I really have no idea about C#, is there a version of this app available in Visual Basic? I've converted as much as I am able, but not knowing the original language, some things look as though they should work, but obviously don't.

Thirdly, (sorry, this is getting to be a lot to ask), when I look at the WebSyncContract.csproj, there seems to be an error

<

ItemGroup>

<

WCFMetadata Include="Service References\" />

</

ItemGroup>

I've looked everywhere I can think of, but can't seem to find a solution to this error. The error reads "The element "ItemGroup" in namespace http://schemas.microsoft.com/developer/msbuild/2003 has an invalid Child element in 'WCFMetaData' in namespace".

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Friday, July 9, 2010 1:06 PM

All replies

• looks like you dont have the WCF project template installed.
    Sunday, July 18, 2010 3:04 PM
  • I agree with JuneT, you seem to be missing the WCF project template.

The WebSharingAppDemo sample is only available in C#. We do not have the implementation in Visual Basic.

The error you mention in the csproj is due to the missing WCF project template.

• Proposed as answer by Ganeshan Tuesday, July 20, 2010 10:15 PM
    • Unproposed as answer by mrsironose Wednesday, August 25, 2010 12:55 PM
    Tuesday, July 20, 2010 10:05 PM
  • Thanks for the information. Now for the next REALLY stupid question...

Where do I get the WCF Project Templates?

Thanks again!

Sunday, July 25, 2010 2:22 PM