WHS 2011 - Add/Remove files/folders will BREAK the Internet Media Streaming. Only get Media Library Error. RRS feed

• Question

• I've installed the NEW WHS 2011 without any issues.

Lot's of changes from the Vail beta I tested and a lot simplier to configure  I'm new to WHS so I can't make any judgements what's better or worst.

The BUG:

I've changed the Video folder to a 1TB drive that I added after install.  I added my video library and streaming worked very well.  I removed 3 folders by double clicking the Videos folder located under Server Folders which can be accessed by the Dashboard. I can no longer access the Video library over the internet.  I now get a 'Media Library Error' box.

I've rebuilt the server twice and tried both time to add/remove files and it broke the Media Library both times.  I can't seam to find any forum on HOW TO fix this issue so I though to post it here.

Web Mystic
    • Moved by brubberModerator Monday, February 14, 2011 3:02 PM WHS 2011 (Vail) question (From:Windows Home Server Software)
    Monday, February 14, 2011 12:51 PM

Answers

• I'm ashamed to say I can't find the connector software 'launchpad'... When I first tested Vail, I downloaded a PC and MAC copy, however I can not find it....  A little help :)

========

Web Mystic, open Internet Explorer and type in http://homeserver/connect, where homeserver is the name you gave WHS when you installed it. Follow the yellow brick road from there. The LaunchPad will be automatically installed with the connector.

Nancy Ward
    • Marked as answer by WebMystic Wednesday, March 2, 2011 7:02 PM
    Tuesday, February 15, 2011 2:28 AM

All replies

• Could be your Media Library needs updating. I would expect this to be automatic, so if the issue is not fixed in a short time I suggest you file a bug report on Windows Home Server Connect Feedback site. Make sure to add sufficient detail for reproducing the issue.

Henk Panneman - http://www.homeserverweb.nl