Obtaining SQL Server Certification RRS feed

• Question

• I know very little about SQL or SQL Server. However, I want to pursue some work in this field. After reading some introductory books on SQL, which certification would you recommend pursuing as an base level certification for this product? Thanks for your time - I need all of the help I can get!

Monday, July 19, 2010 6:23 PM

Answers

All replies

• Hi,

I would recommend the MCITP: Database Administrator 2008 or Database
    Developer 2008,

-- Mike Burr
    Monday, July 19, 2010 6:41 PM
  • Besides MCITP DBA and Dev, there is also a MCITP for BI, so 3 tracks in total.

http://download.microsoft.com/download/6/3/7/6370c653-e270-4e23-9685-15043f63dcce/SQLServer2008_CertPath_Complete.pdf

Myself I am a MCITP in SQL BI since I am a BI/DW developer.

There are 2 exams for each track, I would recommend MCITP Self-Paced Training Kits from MS Press.

The link below is also useful:

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=fffaad6a-0153-4d41-b289-a3ed1d637c0d&displaylang=en

Hope this helps!

Thanks, Michael Mei
    Monday, July 19, 2010 8:13 PM
  • Thank you both very much! That really helps.
    Monday, July 19, 2010 9:18 PM
  • A couple of more questions. After some study and work, I've decided to go after the BI Development and Maintenance (Exam 70-448). I ordered the self-paced training kit. Can any recommend any additional prep materials which may be helpful? I would prefer cheap (or free) materials if possible! Also, do people generally find the self-paced Microsoft kit to be enough?

Thanks again!

Monday, August 2, 2010 7:50 PM
  • I also used self-paced training kit 448 to prepare for the exam.  It will be sufficient enough if you have some sort of hands-on experience.  If you are not currently in the field then I would suggest you go through those exercises at least couple times.

70-448's questions are more specific than 70-452, so getting to know the tools well is important.