System or Configuration container and which domain to install into? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm new to OCS and plan on an evaluation using a single OCS 2007 R2 Standard server. I've read through the deployment guides and tried to digest them as best I can :) - I have a few questions that I'd appreciate some assistance with.

I have a single forest with multiple domains that looks like this:

A
        /   \
       /     \
      B      C

Domain A is not an empty placeholder and it has users in it, there are DC's for this domain in two sites, one of which is the main datacenter.

Domain B contains the central Exchange server, has users in it and there are DC's in two sites, including the main datacenter, these two sites are well connected by a high speed WAN link.

Domain C is distributed over multiple sites which span international boundaries, there are DC's in the satellite offices and the main datacenter. There are two small Exchange servers in this domain in satellite offices.

Users from all domains and eventually all locations will require access to OCS. The plan is to implement CoS over the WAN links when OCS is deployed for real to try to avoid having servers in multiple locations where possible (obviously depending on usage levels which have not yet been defined)

I am not sure which domain would be the best to install OCS into, and whether the global settings should be installed into the configuration container or the system container. The OCS server will be installed in the main datacenter.