My UPnP supported router ASUS DSL-N13 issue RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

I'm really a WHS newbie and I have been struggling for a few days to get my WHS installation on the ACER H340 machine done. On the Remote Access option of the WHS Settings, it is complaining that the router does not support UPnP. I already did the Internet Connectivity Evaluation Tool (http:go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=100267) and passed all tests. 

Manually configurating static IP for the server and port forwarding of ports 80, 443 and 4125 do not seem to help.

I am also having problems accessing the http://my_server_name.homeserver.com , https://my_server_name.homeserver.com and remote desktop console. I believe these are related to the UPnP issue.

I can ping the servername and private ip address with valid responses,  from any of the PCs on the local network in my house.

Please help! I am just totally lost.

Thank you.
    • Moved by JimR1 Friday, December 4, 2009 10:32 PM (From:Windows Live OneCare Multi-PC Management)
    Friday, December 4, 2009 10:20 PM

Answers

• Anything you do on your local area network is "local" or "internal".

When logging into the server using Remote Desktop, you would not need to qualify the user Administrator in any way. By default it will be the local user, which is what you want.

Note: logging into the server using Remote Desktop is "unsupported". Windows Home Server was designed to be managed through the Windows Home Server console, and there are tools available on the server desktop that can cause serious issues, ranging from odd error messages that you can't get rid of to partial or complete data loss. Please be cautious.
    I'm not on the WHS team, I just post a lot. :)
    • Marked as answer by Ishak1 Thursday, December 24, 2009 7:27 AM
    Saturday, December 5, 2009 9:35 PM

All replies