Hardware compatibility to WHS RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to WHS, I would like  to install WHS on my T41 Thinkpad and use 1 ext hard disk connected to the T41 via a PCMCIA card with sata interface. I have a few questions:

1. can the WHS recognise this hard disk and use it as ext. hard disk for backup purposes and all the other features from WHS?
    2. My PCMCIA card is recognised  by Win XP and mostly lightly not by Win 7. Is the WHS based on XP platform? I heard the WHS does support that many different hardware.
    3. I assume WHS is a stand alone OS and I don't need another OS preinstalled first. The WHS I am interested in is this,

Thanks to those who responded

Sunday, March 14, 2010 8:24 AM

Answers

• I recommend rather strongly against using a laptop as a Windows Home Server computer. Laptops have no room for expansion (adding storage is basically impossible other than through a USB drive), often has thermal issues, are generally not designed to run server-class operating systems, and Windows Home Server is not designed for use as a desktop operating system.

If you want to use a laptop as a testbed to evaluate the product, that's probably okay (though all the above still apply, presumably you will move off the laptop at some point). But don't move it into production as your home server.
    I'm not on the WHS team, I just post a lot. :)
    • Marked as answer by ttan98 Sunday, March 14, 2010 8:46 PM
    Sunday, March 14, 2010 2:09 PM
  • I am new to WHS, I would like  to install WHS on my T41 Thinkpad and use 1 ext hard disk connected to the T41 via a PCMCIA card with sata interface. I have a few questions:

1. can the WHS recognise this hard disk and use it as ext. hard disk for backup purposes and all the other features from WHS?
    2. My PCMCIA card is recognised  by Win XP and mostly lightly not by Win 7. Is the WHS based on XP platform? I heard the WHS does support that many different hardware.