none
SyncToy deleted almost all my files

    Question

  • Synctoy deleted almost all my files from my desktop when the NAS was turned off. Is this common or my configuration was wrong? I don't turn on the NAS or run the NAS all the time when i'm using the comp. I've configured synctoy to sync after 30 min from the time the PC is up and running (Scheduled sync). during that time synctoy command window pops up and i used to close it immediately if i don't have NAS running. while playing games its not possible to check and close as i wont be aware of it starting its process and deleted all the files. 

    I used to use allway sync and its perfect. If NAS is off, it doesn't try to sync. The only issue is i was using freeware and it completes the free limit/month just for analyzing itself making it hard to use it halfway through the month else, have to purchase a licensed one so moved to synctoy because it's Microsoft. 

    Is it possible to have synctoy without deleting the files if NAS is not reachable? 

    Thursday, March 2, 2017 9:08 AM

Answers

  • Possibly a little late to the game, but I've seen your problem before.  The problem is most likely your settings.  Your PC should be the left folder and the NAS the right folder, and the sync option should be Echo, NOT Synchronize.  Synchronize works both ways, so if it sees no files on the right (NAS), it will assume you want no files on the left and delete everything there.  Echo, on the other hand, only works from left to right, so any changes made on the left will be echoed to the right, including deletions.  If you don't want anything deleted on the NAS when you delete from your PC, use Contribute instead of Echo.  Contribute does the same left to right actions Echo does, but it will not delete any existing files on the right.

    Hope this helps.

    • Marked as answer by Rubert Jack Thursday, May 25, 2017 12:38 PM
    Wednesday, May 17, 2017 2:41 PM

All replies

  • Possibly a little late to the game, but I've seen your problem before.  The problem is most likely your settings.  Your PC should be the left folder and the NAS the right folder, and the sync option should be Echo, NOT Synchronize.  Synchronize works both ways, so if it sees no files on the right (NAS), it will assume you want no files on the left and delete everything there.  Echo, on the other hand, only works from left to right, so any changes made on the left will be echoed to the right, including deletions.  If you don't want anything deleted on the NAS when you delete from your PC, use Contribute instead of Echo.  Contribute does the same left to right actions Echo does, but it will not delete any existing files on the right.

    Hope this helps.

    • Marked as answer by Rubert Jack Thursday, May 25, 2017 12:38 PM
    Wednesday, May 17, 2017 2:41 PM
  • Thanks mate. Let me try this option. Its not late. I uninstalled synctoy and installed Allway sync trial version for testing. Its been going good with no deleted files. But have to buy to see full effect as it has monthly limit.  
    Thursday, May 25, 2017 12:38 PM