KERNAL_DATA_INPAGE_ERROR RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I finally managed to get the OS installed :-)
    whenever I am trying to access/copy or add files to the share folders I get the KERNEL_DATA_INPAGE_ERROR BSOD on my server.
    Can anyone please help
    I am new to WHS and its already beginning to make me think I should have not bothered with it :-(
    Tuesday, June 30, 2009 6:38 AM

Answers

• "This Stop message indicates that the requested page of kernel data from the paging file could not be read into memory. This Stop message is usually caused by a bad block (sector) in a paging file, a virus, a disk controller error, or failing RAM. In rare cases, it is caused when nonpaged pool resources run out. It is also caused by defective hardware." More details overhere.

In most cases this is caused by failing hardware, often very difficult to diagnose. Anything else in the BSOD error (0x...........)?
    Tuesday, June 30, 2009 7:20 AM

All replies

• "This Stop message indicates that the requested page of kernel data from the paging file could not be read into memory. This Stop message is usually caused by a bad block (sector) in a paging file, a virus, a disk controller error, or failing RAM. In rare cases, it is caused when nonpaged pool resources run out. It is also caused by defective hardware." More details overhere.

In most cases this is caused by failing hardware, often very difficult to diagnose. Anything else in the BSOD error (0x...........)?
    Tuesday, June 30, 2009 7:20 AM
  • Hi and thanks for the reply - I got that from Google about the error, I was wondering if it was somehow how the drive was set up in the shared space - there was a lot of info on it that I wanted to retain and as such chose the 'keep existing files on the HDD'
    I think that maybe what is causing the error, but I am not up to speed on the WHS OS.

I will have a look later and post back :-)
    Tuesday, June 30, 2009 7:27 AM