none
Can't Exclude Folders/Subfolders RRS feed

• Question

•  

Hello all, and thanks for making such a handy little tool.

Perhapse I'm ignorant, as this is my first time playing with SyncToy.  However, after I setup an action to sync between a local drive and a flash drive, the "Preview" function is showing me unexpected results.  Because I want to sync MOST of the folders between the two, but not all of them, I used the "Select Subfolder" link to de-select some folders and subfolders.  Nonetheless, the "Preview" shows a full sync, ignoring the excluded folders selections.  I've confirmed my folder de-selections.

Any thoughts?

-Oscilated

Thursday, October 9, 2008 8:09 PM

Answers

• Yes, SyncToy 2.0 x64.

I've rebooted, re-opened SyncToy, navigated to change options page and verified my de-selections.  Preview still shows unexpected results (full sync).

I'm running this on a fairly large root folder with many includes and excludes.

To help diagnose, I'll keep the same sync pairs, but exclude ALL subfolders.  Then I'll slowly, one at a time, add a folder to see if I can work around this.

Thanks for the suggestions thus far,

-Oscilated

Friday, October 10, 2008 4:27 PM

All replies

• Do you use SyncToy 2.0? It sounds wired, please close SyncToy then re-open it, then go into change action page to checke and make sure the subfolders you want them to be excluded are de-selected. Then try to preview this folder pair to find if this happens again?

Thanks

Ping

Friday, October 10, 2008 5:49 AM
  • Yes, SyncToy 2.0 x64.

I've rebooted, re-opened SyncToy, navigated to change options page and verified my de-selections.  Preview still shows unexpected results (full sync).

I'm running this on a fairly large root folder with many includes and excludes.

To help diagnose, I'll keep the same sync pairs, but exclude ALL subfolders.  Then I'll slowly, one at a time, add a folder to see if I can work around this.

Thanks for the suggestions thus far,

-Oscilated