Calls on local network RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm very new to OCS and after my 1st installation, I've got everything working concerning Presence, IM, Outlook.

Also, Now I would like to know how I could phone from one client to another on the local network.

With Standard Edition can I simply deploy a softphone and dial sip:user@domain ?

Also, after trying the softphones, I'd like to test each client with a SIP Phone (Cisco), what do I need to manage this configuration ?

I saw that I would maybe have to install Mediation Server but when I try to install it, it says that it cannot coexist with OCS Standard Edition

If someone could help me, I would be very grateful Smile
    Friday, May 25, 2007 1:58 PM

Answers

• We were going to try the same thing on our network for testing but unfortunately it isn't possible.

SIP-compliant softphones or hardphones can not register with the OCS server.  There are only a handful of phone models with the special support built-in to connect to LCS/OCS, though more are expected to be released later this summer or in the fall (see microsoft.com/uc).  For softphones, you can use the Communicator client to make voice calls to each other.  Purchase a few USB handsets to make testing a bit easier (I can't recommend any particular models at this point).  I believe there was one other softphone product that can support OCS, but you might as well just use Communicator in that case.

A mediation server is necessary if you're connecting to a media gateway (such as to connect to a PBX or the phone network), and yes it needs to be a dedicated server for the sole purpose of translating calls.  However, if you're only testing internal calling from Communicator to Communicator, you won't need one.