Seeking upgrade advise for motherboard change with oem windows xp RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

Having tinkered with upgrading pci cards,accessories and wireless internet i wanted to upgrade my current motherboard to allow a faster processor etc. Having read the forums i am now quite unsure about it all as its given me more q's than answers !!

My computer is 5 yrs old and as i'm studying for a computer maintenance course i wanted to use my pc as some practical practice for me, without breaking it !

The operating system is an OEM version of windows xp home saved on a hard disc partition i believe, and i have a reload/backup cd for it. The original motherboard became faulty 2/3 yrs ago and was replaced under warrantly by the seller TIME Computers (who have since gone bust) ,  the product key for windows on the case is different to the findings of the belarc program- i asume it's because of the motherboard change ? The belarc program has given me the "current" windows product id and windows product key.

My current processor is an athlon 1400, slow and struggles a lot, very slow by todays standards and is the reason for the motherboard upgrade as the current board can only be upgraded to 1800 , so hardly seems worth it.

I wanted to stay with an "a" socket  motherboard that i have bought in readyness but am now worried that i am not in a position to do an upgrade due to microsoft rules, although the computer does seem to be restarting itself quite often recently, the same problem as the old motherboard before it was replaced !

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated

Many thanks

Paul

Sunday, March 4, 2007 7:49 PM

Answers

• Welsh Wizard,

A full retail version of XP Home can be moved from one computer to another.