asp.net MVC api application won't run RRS feed

• Question

•              

I am moving an asp.net web forms application over to mvc. I want to re-use as much code as possible so I decided use my existing linq to sql library.

I am new to MVC, but have viewed numerous videos from PluralSite for direction.
    I created a model library to work between the linq to sql and the web api.  I had read that I needed to do this because of linq to sql's complexities.

I have also created a web api and started adding linq queries to the controllers.

public IList<Model.vSchedulesFill> GetCustomerSchedules(int id)
            {
                var sch = from p in _context.vSchedulesFills
                          where p.CustomerID == id
                          orderby p.SchedStartDateTime descending
                          select new Model.vSchedulesFill(p);

return sch.ToList();
        }

I tested the above query using Fiddler and the result were good, so I tried to run the program and received the HTTP Error 403.14 - Forbidden error.

The database is on a remote server, but I am running the app in debug mode on my machine.

The error mentions no default document or IIS directory browser not turned on.

I looked up the default document and saw a lot about adding the web api help file.  So I went to NuGet and installed it, but the application still will not run.

I have looked all over for solution to this problem...

What am I doing wrong and what do I need to do to fix this?  So far I've wasted two days trying to figure this out.

Thanks for your help

Friday, March 8, 2013 4:13 PM

Answers

• Hi,

Sorry, I never had such a problem so I cannot give a solution.

But I would suggest to check out http://forums.asp.net because there are the ASP.Net related forums.

With kind regards,

Konrad

• Proposed as answer by Just Karl Wednesday, January 15, 2014 4:15 PM
    • Marked as answer by Just Karl Thursday, January 23, 2014 10:59 PM
    Saturday, March 9, 2013 5:50 AM