none
Certification as an aid in securing work RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am considering doing a certification such as MCPD with the aim of finding a software development job utilising the .NET technology.  I've been a software engineer since 1997 working in the UK defence sector and in that time I have worked on a couple of projects utilising VB.NET and C#, probably amounting to I'd say 2 years experience.  I've also had experience (about 2-3 yrs) working with C++.  However, gradually over a number of years I have unfortunately let my skill set become obsolete with the result that I'm finding it hard, if not impossible to move into software related roles in other sectors such as finance because other applicants skills and experience is much more up to date.  A key problem seems to be that here in the UK, recruitment agents are reluctant to shortlist candidates whose experience with technologies is not an almost exact match for jobs advertised and also bang up to date.  Thus, like many others in similar positions no doubt, valuable software development experience gained over many years is overlooked.  So, in order to improve my own standing I am thinking that gaining certification might at least put me in a more competitive position, despite my .NET experience having been gained over 4 years ago.

I know that many of you out there are IT/software managers with responsibility for recruiting developers/engineers and I'm keen to know whether you think this approach is likely to be successful.  The opportunity to find .NET related work in my company is almost non-existent so that route is not open to me.  The alternative, which I have considered is to just basically train myself by completing some "home projects" but then I've thought that having certification would stand out more on my CV.

I know that I've waffled quite a bit here and haven't asked for anything clear cut but I would appreciate any of your thoughts and suggestions.

Thanks.

Marcus