MCAD to MCPD 2010 certification RRS feed

  • Question

  • I am MCAD certified (from back in 2004 - 2005.. i took tests 315/320/316) Is there any upgrade path to 2010....

    or do I need to start fresh, and do 3 MCTS (70-511/70-513/70-516/70-515 ) and then one of the MCPD tests. (70-518/70-519)




    Friday, July 9, 2010 3:25 PM


All replies

  • Hi,
    Please see

    -- Mike Burr
    • Marked as answer by Rubel Khan Friday, July 23, 2010 6:51 PM
    Friday, July 9, 2010 3:37 PM
  • Unfortunately there is no direct upgrade from 2005 to 2010, so you would need to take the exams that upgrade you from 2005 to 2008 and then upgrade from 2008 from 2010 (the latter upgrade exams are not yet available but should be soon). After considering the number of upgrade exams that you would need to take, you may decide that you prefer to start fresh and take the whole set of new 2010 tests.
    • Marked as answer by Rubel Khan Friday, July 23, 2010 6:51 PM
    Friday, July 9, 2010 3:52 PM
  • Thanks for quick responses...

    Looks like if I took 70-551 I would upgrade to MCPD.

    Then i could take 70-521 to upgrade to VS 2010

    So that would only be two tests vs. four tests for starting fresh at VS2010 MCPD.


    MCAD -> MCPD  http://www.microsoft.com/learning/en/us/certification/mcpd.aspx#tab3

    Current certification

    Certification goal

    Required exam(s)

    MCAD: Web Developer
    Upgrade option 1

    MCPD: Web Developer

    Exam 70-551: Upgrade: MCAD Skills to MCPD Web Developer by Using the Microsoft .NET Framework



    MCPD -> VS2010 MCPD http://www.microsoft.com/learning/en/us/certification/cert-vstudio.aspx#tab2

    Upgrade from MCPD on Visual Studio 2008 to MCPD on Visual Studio 2010

    If you currently hold an MCPD certification on Visual Studio 2008, you can take advantage of one or more of our streamlined upgrade paths to transition your skills and certifications to Visual Studio 2010.

    Current certification

    Certification goals


    MCPD: Windows Developer 3.5 or MCPD: Enterprise Application Developer 3.5

    MCPD: Windows Developer 4

    MCTS: .NET Framework 4, Windows Applications

    MCTS: .NET Framework 4, Service Communication Applications

    MCTS: .NET Framework 4, Data Access

    Exam 70-521: Upgrade: Transition Your MCPD Windows Developer 3.5, or Enterprise Application Developer 3.5, Skills to MCPD


    Friday, July 9, 2010 3:59 PM
  • In reading more closely it looks like each of the 2 upgrade tests are simply portions of the other 3 tests... so the two options are...

    # 1 Upgrade - Study for 6 tests take 2

    # 2 Start Over - Study for 4 tests take 4

    Does that sound right?


    Monday, July 12, 2010 7:37 PM
  • Correct

    Upgrades are designed to be just cheaper for the most of us. You do 20 or 30 questions from each part of the composite exams.And because you already have the prerequisite certification it is taken that you are familiar with exams and can run through the information quicker.

    It depends on what you want to do.


    Blog: http://www.certsandprogs.com

    70-515 Objectives List with MSDN Links
    70-536 Objectives List with MSDN Links
    70-505 Objectives List with MSDN Links
    70-562 Objectives List with MSDN Links
    70-433 Objectives List with MSDN Links
    • Marked as answer by Rubel Khan Friday, July 23, 2010 6:52 PM
    Monday, July 12, 2010 7:57 PM