Wireless Clients RRS feed

• Question

• I have WHS connected to my router through wired connection. I then have a desktop and a laptop both wirelessly connected to the router, as well as an Xbox 360 wireless connected as well.

I'm new to WHS and am thinking about transfering all my files to the user files on the server, so that they duplicate across the board from whichever computer I log on to. As I'm getting tired of leaving files on one pc and having totally different ones on another. They are in pretty close range of each other (15-20ft) but connecting them all with a wire would be too much hassle as they're all around my living room.

I've started to copy files but cancelled as its terribly slow, if I was to connect my clients to the router with a wired connection and transfer the files then, and then went back to wireless once they'd been transfered, would the files still be extremely slow to access etc? if so, how do I improve that while still maintaining wireless connectivity for my clients?

Thanks in advance.

Thursday, August 21, 2008 9:10 AM

Answers

• Wireless networking is slower than wired networking. There's no way around that. You don't say what kind of wireless network you have, but if we assume 802.11g, your maximum theoretical throughput is only 54 Mbps, about 5% of the theoretical throughput of gigabit Ethernet. And you won't see anywhere near a full 54 Mbps on a typical wireless network. Wireless N is faster, but you probably won't see enough of an improvement to make it a worthwhile investment (and some systems won't be able to upgrade anyway, such as your Xbox).

The best way to improve performance when transferring files is to use a wired connection. Once your files are on your server, your wireless network may prove fast enough to work with them from there. If not, again you will need to go to a wired connection for those systems that need frequent access to your files.
    Thursday, August 21, 2008 11:40 AM

All replies

• Hi,