Hows does a WHS 2011 consume DRAM, and how much do I need? RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to WHS 2011 or any server for that matter, and I'm trying to figure out how much DRAM my machine might need.  I recently bought an HP ProLiant N40L.

The processor specs are:

AMD Turion II Neo N40L 1.5GHz 2C

It has 2 DIMM slots that take Unbuffered ECC.

I plan on streaming x264 1080p and 720p view to up to 2, maybe 3 TVs.  I also plan on installing and using Sickbeard/SAB.  SAB I know is process intensive, but I'll schedule any unpacking for off hours.

Hows does a WHS 2011 consume DRAM, and how much might I need?
    Friday, December 2, 2011 10:02 PM

All replies

• Hi and welcome to WHS 2011.

The maximum DRAM supported by 2011 is 8GB, but under normal circumstances (not running things on it which Microsoft does not support e.g. Sickbeard/SAB) 4GB is as much as you need. However, given how cheap RAM is at the moment, I would be inclined to install 2 x 4GB DIMMs if your motherboard supports it.

See this for details of the processor requirements for video streaming:

Video Streaming

Phil P.S. If you find my comment helpful or if it answers your question, please mark it as such.

Friday, December 2, 2011 10:41 PM
  • Hi and welcome to WHS 2011.

See this for details of the processor requirements for video streaming:

Video Streaming

So from that link I am getting that video streaming from a WHS 2011 server, quality is more dependent on the power of the HTPC that you are streaming to.

About the amount of DRAM needed, I had read a post somewhere where someone recommended 1gb of DRAM for ever tb of disc space under WHS 2011.  So If I could cram this box with 3tb drives I'd need 8gb of DRAM at least.